How School
Health Works
in Michigan

Since 1984, key state agencies (the Department of Community Health, the Department of Education, the Department of Human Services and the State Police including the Office of Highway Safety Planning) have worked together to promote school health in Michigan Schools. Networking with more than 115 voluntary and professional groups, the Michigan Model for Comprehensive School Health Education was built on existing resources and created a mechanism to deliver them to communities in a more efficient and effective manner. Today, representatives of these and other agencies make up the Michigan Model State Steering Committee. By bringing together categorical programs, a School Health Program avoids duplication, more efficiently uses limited resources and provides a consistent message to schools about health promotion/disease prevention.

The Michigan Model for Health is implemented through a network of 25 regional Coordinators in Intermediate and large school districts. These Coordinators provide training, organization and support to the local schools who are implementing school health. At this time, more than 90% of public districts, 200 private schools and many of the new charter schools are voluntarily implementing the program. School health programs now reach 940,000 students and their families with key health promotion and disease prevention messages.

Coordinators

View a MAP of the regions in Michigan.

A network of 25 regional School Health Coordinators is responsible for the implementation of coordinated school health programs in the state of Michigan. These Coordinators and their e-mail addresses are listed below. If you reside in Michigan and would like more information about implementation in your area please contact your local coordinator. (Note: Some counties are split into two regions and are therefore listed as counties served by two differently coordinators.) The Coordinators and other individuals responsible for the implementation of Coordinated School Health Programs on the state and district level are members of the Comprehensive School Health Coordinators' Association, a professional organization dedicated to promoting the health of children and their families.
 

# Name Location Counties/Districts Served* Email Address Website Address
1 Taryn Mack
MAP
CCMH Institute Baraga, Gogebic,
Houghton, Keweenaw,
Ontonagon
taryn@theinst.org  Web link
2 Marshall Collins
MAP
TBA ISD Antrim, Benzie, Emmet,
Charlevoix, Kalkaska,
Grand Traverse, Lake,
Leelanau, Manistee, Mason Mecosta, Missaukee, Oceana, Osceola, Wexford
MCollins@tbaisd.org  Web link
3 Lisa Jo Gagliardi
MAP
COP ISD Alcona, Alpena, Crawford, Cheboygan, Montmorency, Ogemaw, Oscoda, Otsego
Presque Isle, Roscommon
lgagliardi@eup.k12.mi.us   Web link
4 Sharon Zajac
MAP
Muskegon Area ISD Muskegon, Newaygo,
Oceana
szajac@muskegonisd.org Web link
5 Cathy Rayburn
MAP
Gratiot-Isabella RESD Clare, Gladwin, Gratiot
Isabella, Midland
crayburn@griisd.net Web link
6 Amy Wassmann
MAP
Saginaw ISD Arenac, Bay, Iosco wassmanna@sisd.cc  
7 Beverly Littner-Schroeder
MAP
Ottawa Area ISD Allegan, Ottawa bschroed@oaisd.org  Web link
8 Cheryl Blair
MAP
Kent ISD Ionia, Kent, Montcalm cherylblair@kentisd.org  Web link
9 Amy Wassmann
MAP
Saginaw ISD Saginaw wassmanna@sisd.cc  Web link
10 Betsy Dillon
MAP
Tuscola ISD Huron, Sanilac, Tuscola bdillon@tuscolaisd.org Web link
11 Joyce Miller
MAP
Berrien ISD Berrien, Cass, Van Buren Joyce.Miller@berrienresa.org Web link
12 Cynthia Cook
MAP
Calhoun ISD Kalamazoo, St. Joseph,
Calhoun, Barry, Branch
cookc@calhounisd.org Web link
13 Wendy Sellers
MAP
Eaton ISD Clinton, Eaton, Ingham wsellers@eatonisd.org Web link
14 Judy Fridline
MAP
Genesee ISD Genesee, Lapeer, Shiawassee jfridlin@geneseeisd.org  Web link
15 Steve Sukta
MAP
Jackson ISD Hillsdale, Jackson stevesukta@jcisd.org Web link
16 Mary Beno
MAP
Livingston ESA Livingston, Washtenaw marybeno@livingstonesa.org  Web link
17 Pauline Pruneau
MAP
Oakland ISD Oakland PPRUN10622@aol.com  Web link
18 Patti Steele
MAP
Macomb ISD Macomb, St. Clair psteele@misd.net  Web link
19 Jean Foster
MAP
Monroe ISD Lenawee, Monroe jean.foster@monroeisd.us   Web link
20 Kathy Gibson
MAP
Wayne County RESA Wayne gibsonk@resa.net  Web link
21 Charlie Yeager
MAP
Marquette Alger ISD Alger, Delta, Dickinson
Iron, Marquette,
Menominee, Schoolcraft
cyeager@maresa.org  Web link
22 Lisa Jo Gagliardi
MAP
Eastern UP ISD Chippewa, Luce, Mackinac lgagliardi@eup.k12.mi.us  Web link
23 Arlene Richardson
MAP
Detroit Public Schools Detroit Public Schools arlene.richardson@detroitk12.org  Web link
24 Eileen Tomasi
MAP
Flint Community Schools Flint Community Schools etomasi@flintschools.org  Web link
25 Kelly Williams
MAP
Grand Rapids Public Schools Grand Rapids Public Schools williamsk@grps.k12.mi  

return to top



Educational Materials Center 1999-2011